Reviews - Orasay Inn

Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 4 nights in August.Hotel,was very nice and food excellent.Proprietors, Alan and Isobel were very helpful and accommodating.We had a twin room with french windows out on to a private verandah with views down to the sea (Loch Carnan)Whilst hotel is in a quiet area, it is well situated for access to Benbecula and North Uist and the road south towards Eriskay and Barra.

Reviewer:JAMES SHELDON | Wed 13th Sep 2017


fabulous food and sea views - Rating 5/5

The food here was the best food we had in our 2 week stay in Scotland. The fish was fantastic. Hugh crab claws, mussels and clams. If fresh locally caught seafood is your thing then eat here. The restaurant has a fantastic sea view. The owners were extremely welcoming and hospitable.

Reviewer:margo ronaybe | Thu 7th Sep 2017


The cycling birder - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable accommodation with outstanding food, if anything, the portions were too big, even after cycling all day!

Reviewer:Derek Coleman | Wed 30th Aug 2017


A very good place to explore Uist and beyond - Rating 4/5

Deservedly on the Hebrides Food Trail, the cuisine was really top notch, both dinner and breakfast. Very quiet location with excellent views. We booked late, and the \'small double\' was all we could get:it was small! All in all, would be very pleased to stay there again.

Reviewer:James Bennie | Mon 28th Aug 2017


Uist holiday - Rating 4/5

excellent food and location

Reviewer:peter newton | Thu 24th Aug 2017


A pleasant stopover. - Rating 5/5

This was a very pleasant find at short notice.It was off route but with a car easy to find. Also the meal in the evening was delicious.

Reviewer:Janet Turner | Tue 22nd Aug 2017


As - Rating 4/5

Lovely meals. Rooms very clean

Reviewer:Mr. Jim Muir | Sun 13th Aug 2017


Excellent short stay- Rating 4/5

Lovely secluded location but also ideal for touring around the Uists. Excellent breakfast and evening meals in a dining room with amazing views. Room 3 very well furnished with lovely patio overlooking the water. Recommend highly.

Reviewer:Margot Johnstone | Wed 9th Aug 2017


Hebridean Gem - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at Orasay Inn, what a find! Beautiful peaceful location, ideal for exploring Uists and Barra. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with a wooden decked area for sitting out and enjoying the spectacular views. The food was outstanding, using locally sourced produce. Run by such a lovely couple who were so friendly and welcoming as were the rest of the team!

Reviewer:LOUISE WARNOCK | Sat 5th Aug 2017


Excellent Location- Rating 5/5

Fantastic place to stay, Very comfortable , great location in South Uist. Great food and lovely Hosts. Highly Recommended.

Reviewer:Derek Smith | Fri 4th Aug 2017


Thanks! - Rating 5/5

HelloI spent great days at Orasay Inn. Room is small but clean and nice, food is fresh and good. Many thanks again for your great help in organising my trip to Harris Island and for bringing me to the bus station. Everything went without any problem...best Regals, Maya

Reviewer:Maya Repele | Fri 4th Aug 2017


Great wee Hotel. - Rating 5/5

On first arrival we were a bit unsure as the Inn is fairly remote. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable.A wee bit dated in places but the friendly staff, delicious food and the stunning view from the dining room more than made up for that and we would definitely stay again.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Jill Watson | Mon 31st Jul 2017


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Fabulous location, very comfortable rooms. Excellent food all freshly cooked and with an extensive menu. Gluten free options very well catered for.Owners were very pleasant and accomodating.A very enjoyable 4 night stay. Thank you

Reviewer:Kate Causier | Sun 30th Jul 2017


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

This is a brilliant place to stay. The owners Isobel and Alan make you feel at home. The restaurant is popular with local residents for a meal out. Food is superb:I only ate seafood but they offer local beef, lamb and venison too. Peaceful night\'s sleep guaranteed:no passing traffic, no air traffic, no late night discos. It was a wrench to leave.

Reviewer:Dr. Iain Farrell | Sun 23rd Jul 2017


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Rooms basic but comfortable but the food was fantastic and the best we had during our 10 days stay on the Outer Hebrides

Reviewer:Mr. Adrian Izod | Tue 27th Jun 2017


Nice stay thank you - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay and recommend the sea food dinners.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie Greenslade | Sun 25th Jun 2017


Hebridean Journey - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the Orasay Inn when touring the Western Isles.Accommodation wasclean and comfortable. The outstanding feature of our stay was the food. Excellent breakfasts - huge variety of fresh fruits and generous and varied cooked breakfasts. Evening meals were delicious - again an extensive menu of home cooked meals using local produce.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Orasay Inn to travellers in this area.

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine McWhirter | Thu 22nd Jun 2017


Superb seafood! - Rating 5/5

It\'s worth travelling a long way to the Orosay Inn just for the seafood. Some of the very best I\'ve ever tasted - they really know how to both source and cook both fish and shellfish. Can\'t understand why it\'s not in the Good Food Guide!

Reviewer:Dr. John Finney | Thu 22nd Jun 2017


Holiday - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation,views at breakfast out to the Cuillins!ideal for all the Isles linked by causeway and ferry connections

Reviewer:Mr. William Corner | Tue 20th Jun 2017


Wonderful Small Hotel - Rating 5/5

I had a great two days at the Orasay Inn. Very welcoming and the food was terrific, but ask for a small portion or you\'ll never eat it all!

Reviewer:Mrs. Irene Cromack | Fri 2nd Jun 2017


Our stay at the Orasay Inn - Rating 4/5

enjoyed our stay,excellent food.

Reviewer:Mr. Leslie Swarbrick | Wed 31st May 2017


Ideal for purpose - Rating 4/5

My stay at Orasay was ideal...decent welcome, big and clean room, friendly staff and good food. Lovely views from room and dining room and a good breakfast too. I would happily recommend....and my dog was most welcome too!

Reviewer:Mr. David McCorquodale | Mon 22nd May 2017


The place to stay! - Rating 5/5

An extremely friendly and comfortable hotel in an ideal location for exploring North & South Uist. An excellent breakfast with a wide variety of selections on the menu - all tastes catered for.The evening meal menu was equally varied with the quality of the food and service outstanding. If ever we return to the area the Orasay would be our first choice.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher O\'Connell | Sat 20th May 2017


Nice homely hotel - Rating 4/5

Quiet hotel with comfy rooms. Breakfasts were amazing as was the evening meals. Massive portions all home cooked. Seafood a speciality.

Reviewer:Mr. Ronald Jensen | Sat 20th May 2017


a good place to stay - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and excellent food.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian Murray | Thu 18th May 2017


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, very comfortable & excellent food

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann Harrison | Thu 18th May 2017


Outstanding! - Rating 5/5

Perfect stay, everything arranged to provide brilliant holidays in spectacular landscape. Friendly and welcoming hosts and as a special highlight:First class cuisine!

Reviewer:Mr. Werner Richter | Tue 16th May 2017


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Alan and Isabel welcomed us warmly. We enjoyed all our meals which were imaginatively presented.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda Barker | Fri 5th May 2017


A wonderful place. - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely night in the Orasay Inn. Lovely welcome, comfortable room, and our dinner will live long in the memory - a wonderful meal looking out over the Loch. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Robin Gillies | Fri 28th Apr 2017


Outstanding Hebridean Welcome - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here several times for work and each time the friendly service and excellent food have not disappointed.The flexibility shown by the owners for our early starts and late finishes was a real bonus that made us feel very welcome.We were well looked after and I can thoroughly recommend the Orasay Inn for its hospitality, comfort and friendliness.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger Hyland | Sun 9th Apr 2017


Friendly warm welcome - Rating 5/5

This hotel is like home from home and I was made to feel really welcome by the owners, Isobel and Alan. Whilst the rooms were on the small side especially if you were a couple in the double room but as I had sole occupancy it was fine and the decor is a little dated. However on the plus side there was no need to sit in our room in the evening as there is a cosy lounge to chill in both before and after your evening meal.There is a pretty extensive menu especially considering as all the cooking is done by Isobel and some of the food was outstanding, not fine dining but mostly what sort of fair you would have at home well apart from the sea food platter perhaps. Others have commented that they thought it was expensive but I would say that £11 for haddock and chips wasn\'t out the way. Thee were more pricy things on the menu depending on you budget. The breakfast was one of the best I have had in hotels around the world with a fabulous selection of fresh fruit as well as pretty much everything you could ask for for a hearty Scottish breakfast.The owners having been there for a good few years obviously know the area and certainly gave me some advice on the local hills as if time allowed and I finished work early wanted to climb being mhor which I did one evening and it\'s a cracking wee hill.I would definitely stay here again if I\'m ever working in the area again and would stay if travelling in south Uist on my own violation.

Reviewer:Mr. ANDYPRItCHARD | Tue 4th Apr 2017


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable stay with amazing food.Very friendly and helpful, beautiful views.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara Jezierska | Fri 23rd Sep 2016


Orasay Inn - fantastic food and wonderful hospitality - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Orasay on our cycling trip along the Hebridean Way. The seafood was fantastic and so was the breakfast. The hotel was lovely and the hospitity excellent. We returned to our bikes well rested and happy the next day, thank you. Would recommend to anyone visiting the Hebrides

Reviewer:Ms. Helen Davies | Thu 15th Sep 2016


A Well Run Establishment - Rating 4/5

A good hotel with great attention to detail. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Food very good with lots of choice, even for vegetarians. Portions very large. There is a fantastic view of the loch and mountains from the dining room. A very clean well run establishment

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen Durham | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Happy holidays - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay, with very good food, but you need a huge appetite.

Reviewer:Mr. James Spence | Sun 11th Sep 2016


Warm welcome & delicious food in a great spot - Rating 5/5

Loved the Orasay Inn! They were so helpful when we got in late on our bikes & we had a delicious meal there. Lovely views from the dining room too. Great shower, comfy bed, would stay again if ever in this neck of the woods

Reviewer:Ms. Julia Fortes | Tue 6th Sep 2016


excellent small hotel - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed staying at the Orasay Inn the food was great and Alan and Isobell were great hosts a real home from home.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter Martin | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Great food and good premises - Rating 4/5

Great food and very nice room.

Reviewer:Mr. Davide Spinelli | Sun 14th Aug 2016


Orasay Inn 2/3 August 2016 - Rating 5/5

An exceptionally welcoming and comfortable hotel. The rooms were bright and cosy, whilst the food was outstanding in terms of choice,quality and value. Thanks to Alan and Isobel, we hope to see you again before too long!

Reviewer:Mr. david spencer | Mon 8th Aug 2016


Very good - Rating 5/5

Very helpful stuff, good breakfast!

Reviewer:Mr. Simon-Matthias Broich | Tue 2nd Aug 2016


1st visit to Uist - Rating 5/5

Made very welcome by all staff on arrival, rooms were spotless and really comfy beds. Breakfast was great in a lovely room with amazing outlook.Thanks Orasy Inn, 10 out of 10.😁

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart Cowan | Mon 1st Aug 2016


Would recommend- Rating 4/5

A warm Hebridean welcome for my friend and I on our short tour of Barra and the Uists. Lovely meal and comfortable accommodation .

Reviewer:Mrs. Jackie Smith | Thu 28th Jul 2016


What a welcome! - Rating 5/5

Alan and Isobel were the perfect hosts. So friendly and so welcoming. Isobel\'s food is A1 and a \'must\' for any guests. Staying on South Uist, then stay at the Orasay Inn.

Reviewer:Mr. David Brooks | Fri 15th Jul 2016


Excellent - Rating 1/5

Absolutely first class

Reviewer:Mr. Archie Brown | Sun 10th Jul 2016


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

This is one of the best places we have stayed at. The hosts are very wellcoming and nothing is a problem. The food is of the highest quality particularly the seafood. I would highly recommend the Hebridean shellfish soup. At £8 it is great value - full of scallops, mussels, clams etc.A MEAL IN ITSELF.If back in the area will definitely choose to stay here.

Reviewer:Dr. Iain Sanderson | Sun 19th Jun 2016


Beyond expectation - Rating 4/5

As this was a busy period I was only able to get a single room -but for 2 nights that was fine and hotel was comfortable . Owners very friendly and food was excellent . Have enjoyed Stornoway black pudding mant times but take the opportunity to try the White pudding . Will come back with family in near future .

Reviewer:Mr. david laing | Fri 3rd Jun 2016


Welcome from Alan and Isabel - Rating 4/5

We enjoyed meeting our hosts, Alan and Isabel and were very comfortable in a double bedded room with ensuite facilities.The evening meal was delicious and as for the choice at breakfast time - wonderful, with fresh strawberries and other fruits, yoghurts and all the usual scottish breakfast ingredients.Delicious.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Thomson | Fri 27th May 2016


Excellent Choice - Rating 5/5

We stayed three nights in a room with balcony at the rear of the Inn. The view was lovely. We also ate our evening meal there all three nights. The quality of the food is excellent both for dinner and breakfast. The location is perfect for touring both South and North Uist.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joan Hood | Fri 27th May 2016


Fantastic- Rating 4/5

Wonderful food coupled with the best of weather let us see the island at its best.

Reviewer:Mr. William Gill | Sun 15th May 2016


You have to go there - Rating 5/5

Nice People at a beautiful Place with great food. Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Marc Nau | Sat 7th May 2016


Clean, Comfortable, Great Hosts - Rating 5/5

A very peaceful, clean and tidy hotel.Hosts were great and nothing was too much trouble.Good menu with good food and plenty of it !!!Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim Robinson | Fri 6th Nov 2015


Mr Shaun P Aldred - Rating 5/5

A big thank to Isobel and Alan for staying up late (10;45 pm) to welcome and cook for us, due the ferry problems.

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun Aldred | Fri 4th Sep 2015


Ideal base - Rating 4/5

An excellent base for visiting the Uists if you want good food and a good welcome.

Reviewer:Mr. Donald Cameron | Tue 1st Sep 2015


Friendly Place - Rating 5/5

Provided everything we wanted. Room good and food excellent

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Dean | Mon 31st Aug 2015


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Very helpful and friendly staff, rich breakfast, rooms good.

Reviewer:Mrs. Magdalena Klink | Tue 25th Aug 2015


Warm Island Hospitality - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay at Orasay so much. The Inn was comfortable, the food was excellent and the owners and staff were friendly and attentive.

Reviewer:Mr. Harold Jackson | Tue 25th Aug 2015


lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Great location (also very convenient for exploring South Uist as well as North Uist and Benbecula), friendly and welcoming staff, very comfortable room, good food with excellent fish dishes.Had a very nice stay.Thank you Orosay Inn!

Reviewer:Dr. Marion Hall | Sun 23rd Aug 2015


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Good guesthouse combined with a restaurant, so you don\'t need to find a (scarce) restaurant in the area. Very friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Good, spacious rooms and a great view over the local landscape. We really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Mr. MichielVrenken | Tue 11th Aug 2015


Welcome overnight stop - Rating 5/5

We stopped here for the one night on a week long tour of the Hebrides. This was one of ourbest stops. Friendly, helpful people who made you feel welcome. Excellent freshly cooked diner and breakfast the following morning.

Reviewer:Ms. Christine Mitchell | Thu 6th Aug 2015


A great place to stay- Rating 5/5

This place is well worth a stay. Fabulous choice of breakfast and a good choice for an evening meal too. A central location at the north end of North Uist so easy to get around the area. Make sure you book soon to meet Josie the highland calf who was born on New Years Day. Nice friendly hosts too.

Reviewer:Miss. Susan Baxter | Sun 7th Jun 2015


Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

We had 4 nights at the Orasay Inn in early May and had a splendid visit.The welcome was very warm, the accommodation most comfortable and the food splendid.We shall be delighted to visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. William Barnes | Sat 16th May 2015


A Gem on South Uist - Rating 5/5

If there is a better place to eat and sleep on South Uist, then it is a very well kept secret. The Inn is comfortable, the welcome warm and the view is superb. Were that not enough, Isobel Graham\'s \"Scottish Natural Cooking\"is of the very highest quality.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Thorne | Sat 9th May 2015


osaray inn - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcoming staff and great through out.My room was large,clean and comfortable.Food was excellent.A pleasure to stay at.

Reviewer:Mr. Jason Phillimore | Sat 6th Dec 2014


Good stopoff - Rating 4/5

Friendly small Inn with good food. Comfortable lounge and a nice view from the restaurant.Instructions for arrival clear and necessary as a bit off the main road.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen Wood | Mon 22nd Sep 2014


Orasay - Rating 3/5

Modest accommodation but food, especially fish, quite outstanding.

Reviewer:Mr. David Irving | Sat 20th Sep 2014


Great break - Rating 4/5

What a lovely 3 days we had at the Orasay Inn. Good accommodation, friendly staff and fantastic food. Well placed for visiting both North & South Uist.

Reviewer:Mr. David Mcisaac | Tue 9th Sep 2014


Seafood to die for - Rating 5/5

Excellent food and friendly relaxed people. Great views from the delux room.

Reviewer:Mrs. Edith Harkins | Wed 27th Aug 2014


Delicious food - Rating 4/5

The high spot was the wonderful restaurant serving delicious dinners and breakfasts in scenic surroundings. Otherwise a fairly standard B& B, but clean and comfortable with a warm welcome.

Reviewer:Miss. Heather Cordell | Mon 18th Aug 2014


14 August 2014 - Rating 3/5

A pleasant stay with solicitous hosts.Room was adequate, very clean with bags of hot water but a little tight on space.Food was disappointing.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean Howard | Thu 14th Aug 2014


Relaxing - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay in the wilds of South Uist with excellent food. good for visiting lots of places.

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Smith | Mon 11th Aug 2014


Feedback - Rating 4/5

No problems encountered. We enjoyed our stay and the owner was extremely friendly..

Reviewer:Mrs. Elaine Gaiger | Wed 6th Aug 2014


Top marks for a wonderful holiday - Rating 5/5

We absolutely loved our stay at The Orasay and found it an excellent base to explore the Islands round and about. Our room was terrific, with a beautiful, peaceful view from the French windows and balcony - perfect for a glass of wine when the sun shone.The highlight of The Orasay has to be the splendid food served in their restaurant. We were so impressed with the standard of the cuisine that we booked every night of our stay and had some excellent fish dishes amongst other things. The breakfasts were of the same high standard, with lots of variety and always a wonderful selection of fresh fruit. The haddock poached in milk was particularly tasty.We would not hesitate to book at The Orasay again if we are ever in that part of Scotland again.

Reviewer:Mr. David Ashcroft | Wed 6th Aug 2014


Wonderful eating! - Rating 4/5

Unfortunately we spent at Orasay Inn only one night! Seafood fantastic and very good beer! We wish you all the best.

Reviewer:Mr. Alberto Furlanetto | Sun 20th Jul 2014


Orasay Inn South Uist - Rating 4/5

We stayed as a party of three. The rooms were good, the view wonderful, the food delicious (be prepared for huge portions)but what really made it for us was how friendly and welcoming Isobel and Alan were. The central location makes it perfect for exploring the islands from Eriskay to Berneray. We will be back.

Response

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewer:Miss. Caroline Davies | Wed 9th Jul 2014


In the steps of Boswell & Johnson - Rating 4/5

As part of a planned trip my 2 night stay here involved the best coffee on the islands yet..website worked well, breakfast was superb, views from the restaurant stunning. Shower power sublime..in short, highly recommend this place! Helpful staff too, good wifi completes the picture. Centrally placed for the Uists too.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard Smith | Sun 1st Jun 2014


twin room B&B - Rating 3/5

Room clean, good quality breakfast and evening meal.Small hotel in rural area.

Reviewer:Mr. Craig Mcdougall | Thu 29th May 2014


orasay inn fantastic - Rating 5/5

A fantastic location.Sunrise over the Isle of Skye and Red Deer outside window. Room really comfortable and food amazing. The portions were huge!!!!Looking forward to booking next year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet Morris | Fri 2nd May 2014


A Little Gem - Rating 5/5

Friendly, clean and stunning scenery. Highly recommended. Looking forward to staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Ferdinando | Wed 30th Apr 2014


Good - Rating 4/5

The food was exceptional the home grown beef just melted in your mouth.All you foodies has got to go to this restaurant to try what good food tastes like

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Pilley | Mon 24th Mar 2014


Relaxing rural retreat offering great food - Rating 5/5

A little off the beaten track but worth it for the peace and the sunset view from our room alone! Friendly owners and very tasty food helped make our stay very pleasurable. Will stay again when next we return to the Outer Hebrides.

Reviewer:Mr. Gordon Gray | Sun 20th Oct 2013


Great food - Rating 4/5

Spent a most comfortable night at the Orasay Inn.Food was absolutely amazing, plenty of seating in guest lounge, and comfortable bed with TV.Only down side would be that the bedroom was so small that the tiny shower room required a concertina door (room 1).

Reviewer:Miss. Jane Ironside | Mon 30th Sep 2013


3 night stay... - Rating 5/5

Lovely room with a stunning view together with delicious food both at breakfast and dinner made my short stay very enjoyable. The owners and staff were friendly & helpful too. I will certainly return.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Pipe | Wed 18th Sep 2013


Restful stay - Rating 4/5

Comfortable stay with excellent meals

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane Charles | Fri 6th Sep 2013


Friendly - Rating 4/5

Our stay at the Orasay Inn was relaxing, amid a friendly atmosphere. Dinner was excellent:the sea trout was great.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul Gill | Sun 1st Sep 2013


just perfect! - Rating 5/5

Lovely breakfast and very nice room. Wifi worked fine, staff was very friendly. We would love to come back one day!

Reviewer:Mr. Gregor Schneider | Mon 15th Jul 2013


pleasant trip - Rating 5/5

good food and a comfortable stay,lovely location.Did I really get paid for for coming to one of the most beautiful places in the world!!!!!!

Reviewer:Mr. Mark Roberts | Sat 13th Jul 2013


Good - Rating 4/5

Good value hotel with a very good dining room. As the guide books say it the latter that makes this place:very fresh 'catch of the day' food cooked simply but very well. Also, a good range of wines are available.

Reviewer:Dr. Neil Goodwin | Tue 2nd Jul 2013


Overall View - Rating 3/5

The Orasay Inn is in a good location a friendly atmosphere the hosts made you very welcoome and the cooking was very good it would have being a 4star but the bedroom & bathroom/shower could do with an uplift.We would definately go back,

Reviewer:Mr. Robert Elliott | Sun 23rd Jun 2013


good place to stay - Rating 4/5

Stayed here on a tour of the hebrides, great location- wonderful views and very tranquil. saw a stag while we were having dinner.Food is good, whisky selection excellent.Rooms are fairly standard and it all works. Very cheerful and helpful staff, thanks

Reviewer:Mr. Chris Pearce | Sun 23rd Jun 2013


Fantastic breakfasts - Rating 5/5

Spent two nights here and were made to feel very welcome right from the start.Lovely room with big bed and the view from the restaurant/decking was stunning. We had excellent weather which we took full advantage of to tour South Uist - the Orasay is in a perfect location to do both North and South Uist.Food was superb especially the breakfasts - the most enormous full Scottish I have ever seen!

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine Snelling | Sun 16th Jun 2013


HD - Rating 5/5

Nice quiet friendly hotel.Single rooms quite smallbut fine.Great breakfast including fresh fruit and freshly squeezed orange juice and filter coffee. Evening meals of high standard and a great choicefrom specials through to pricier seafood options. Small enough to feel fine to go to eat as a person travelling alone.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Doherty | Mon 10th Jun 2013


Stay on 3rd June - Rating 5/5

My wife needed oxygen therapy at the hotel which was delivered by NHS. The owner and his wife were very helpful with this and with assisting my wife to enjoy her stay . Thank you Alan and Isobel. Food excellent

Reviewer:Mr. Graham Price | Wed 5th Jun 2013


Perfect stopover - Rating 5/5

This hotel was the perfect place to stay on our south to north trip of the Outer Hebrides. Very welcoming and comfortable. First class food, ales and malts!

Reviewer:Mr. Alastair Neilson | Tue 28th May 2013


Robert Jones - Rating 5/5

We had a very relaxing stay. Allan & Isobel were fantasticand we loved the Uists.

Reviewer:Dr. Robert Jones | Fri 24th May 2013


Hotel Orasay Inn - Rating 5/5

Suggest there is some soft background music played in the dining room and lounge---otherwise excellent !!

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas Kennedy | Wed 3rd Apr 2013


Winter - Rating 4/5

Very friendly little Hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Rolf Richter | Tue 12th Mar 2013


Orosay Inn - Rating 5/5

This was a return visit after 15 years.My friend Marion and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay.The room was comfortable and the food excellent.Our thanks to Yanis for his attentive care, and to the owners for keeping up the good work.Will definitely return if ever in that area again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne Al-jumaili | Fri 21st Sep 2012


Two night stay at Orasay Inn - Rating 4/5

A most enjoyable stay at Orasay Inn. The breakfast was excellent as was the evening meal. The staff were friendly and very helpful and contributed to a very enjoyable stay. The room was 4 star whereas the food was 5 star. I would recommend Orasay Inn to others. Thank you all at Orasay Inn for a most enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Dr. Roderick Mackay | Mon 17th Sep 2012


Orasay Inn - Rating 4/5

We arrived rather weatherbeaten and found a warm welcome. Excellent food and comfortable accommodation. Splendid!

Reviewer:Mr. James Kerr | Sun 9th Sep 2012


South Uist stay - Rating 4/5

Nice Hotel on the Remote Island of South Uist. Good kitchen in the middle of nowhere

Reviewer:Mr. Christoph Schwieter | Fri 17th Aug 2012


Excellent Inn - Rating 5/5

We were in a spacious room with en suite, very clean and comfortable, meals were outstanding and views were stunning from dining room, all staff encountered were friendly and very helpful, will definatley stay again if i'm up that way!

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew Hodgson | Sun 29th Jul 2012


Top Marks 5outof 5 - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for four night exploring uists and other Islands. Food was exceptional -breakfast couldn't have been betterd.Fresh raspberries,strawberries,cherries,blueberriesgrapes and pineapple all for starters for breakfast.Four other choices of hot dishes. Evening meals were delicious seafood scallops were superb.Also fillet steak divine to name a few dishes. Room comfortable and service friendly.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Reed | Fri 20th Jul 2012


Spring Holiday - Rating 5/5

We had a eight day holiday on South Uist in May 2012 and were delighted with our accommodation at the Orasay Inn.The Superior roomwas a great choice with its French windows to a patio. We greatly enjoyed Isabel's cooking, really good home cooking and always plenty! Home made bread,freshly cooked seafood dishes and old-fashioned proper soups were the speciality of the Inn. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we were even blessed with lovely weather.

Reviewer:Dr. David Mcmahon | Sat 16th Jun 2012


Just the Job - Rating 4/5

Our party was treated with great friendliness and looked after very well. The rooms were very comfortable and the views from the East end rooms with the doors opening on to decking were superb.A word of warning. The ferry from Oban to Loch Boisdale is not scheduled every day of the week and may be cancelled by bad weather.Other ferries are available.Travel Insurance should be considered.

Reviewer:Mr. Gib Weir | Mon 14th May 2012


lovely little inn - Rating 4/5

Thank you for your hospitality!After a rather rough trip, it was wonderful to feel so welcomed and well tended-to! The cheesecake was delicious!!! Highly recommended!!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Kirsten Wallace | Thu 8th Mar 2012


The Uists - Rating 4/5

Stayed at the Orasay Inn for 4 nights on our first visit to the Uists. Location perfect for exploring all the islands incl.Barra & Vatersay. Good food , very friendly welcome & excellent service. Room comfortable and stylish. We plan to return.

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth Mcnaughton | Tue 15th Nov 2011


review of stay - Rating 5/5

This is an excellent small hotel.It is small and friendly with a great dinner menu and a breakfast that will set you up for the day.The small guest lounge is a great place to wait for dinner in a friendly informal atmosphere.A home away from home kind of place that I would thoroughly recommend for those travelling alone or for work.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen Doherty | Mon 24th Oct 2011